Other Sections

Killarney Municipal District

Upcoming Events


Kerry County Council (Comhairle Contae Chiarraí) is the authority responsible for local government in County Kerry, Ireland. The council has 33 elected members. Elections are held every five years and are by single transferable vote. The head of the Council has the title of Cathaoirleach. The county administration is led by a Chief Executive.

The 2014 local elections were held on 23 May 2014. These elections were held following the changes effected by the Local Government Reform Act 2014. The Act abolished Town Councils and introduced a new system of Municipal Districts. County Kerry was divided into four Municipal Districts, which are identical with the local electoral areas (LEA) used for election of Councillors. The number of County Councillors was increased from 27 to 33 and the allocation of Councillors is as follows:


Local Electoral AreaSeatsDistrict
Killarney8Municipal District of Killarney
Listowel7Municipal District of Listowel
South & West Kerry9Municipal District of South & West Kerry
Tralee9Municipal District of Tralee

Killarney Municipal Boundaries 


    Sign up below to receive regular updates about Killarney. You can unsubscribe at any time.
    • * Required
    • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact us

  • Privacy Consent * Required
    This form collects your data so that the company listed on this page can get back to you in relation to your enquiry. Please see our privacy policy for more information.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.