Other Sections

High Street & Lanes

Anstehende Veranstaltungen

High Street & Lanes

High Street & Spuren Hauptbild

Audio Transcript

Retracing unsere Schritte zurück zur High Street, können Sie eine Fülle von attraktiven neunzehnten Jahrhunderts Ladenfronten und Häuser sehen. Die elf Fahrspuren aus High Street, viele von ihnen noch gepflasterten und sehr atmosphärisch, einmal das schlagende Herz der Stadt waren. In dem Bemühen, auf den sich entwickelnden Tourismus-Industrie der Mitte des achtzehnten Jahrhunderts zu nutzen, der 4. Earl of Kenmare gab das Land hier, kostenlos, In den Unteragenten, die Häuser gebaut und hatte die Spuren nach ihnen benannt. Daher, wir haben Spuren genannt Huggard des, Brasby des, Flemings, Barrys, Duckett ist, Hogan und Bower Lane - wo der einzige Killarney geborene Bischof von Kerry geboren wurde.

As the name suggests, Ball Alley Lane war einst die Stelle eines alten Handball Alley. Einer der vier Spiele, die von der Gaelic Athletic Association organisiert (die GAA), es ist ähnlich das amerikanische Spiel, aber in einem Outdoor-Gericht gespielt. Der Sport ist nicht unähnlich in mancher Hinsicht zu zerquetschen, nur statt einen Schläger mit, der Spieler schlägt den Ball mit der Hand. Es war einmal ein sehr beliebter Sport in Irland, und viele Dörfer hatten ihre eigene Handball-Gasse. Seine Popularität hat in dem frühen zwanzigsten Jahrhundert von seiner Blütezeit vermindert, aber es ist immer noch ein hart umkämpften Sport.

Am Ende der High Street, an der Kreuzung der Rock Road und St Annes Straße, steht ein feines Denkmal für die Kerry Nummer 2 Brigade der alten Irisch-Republikanischen Armee, die während des Unabhängigkeitskrieges in diesem Bereich betrieben von 1919 – 1921. Das große Steindenkmal verfügt über eine bewaffnete Rebell bereit, in Aktion zu springen. Die Gaelic League Halle stand einst in der Nähe von, wo die lokale Niederlassung der irischen Freiwilligen gebildet wurde in 1913. Führende Persönlichkeiten des Kampfes für die Unabhängigkeit Irlands wie Patrick Pearse, Michael Collins und Eamon De Valera alle besuchten Killarney in der Revolutionszeit von 1913 to 1923. Die Skulptur wurde von Ned Looney von Killorglin gemacht, Co. Kerry und wurde errichtet 1970 durch den Killarney Zweig der Republikanischen Graves Verband. Ein weiterer, fast identische Arbeit von Ned Looney der Stände im Süden Kerry Stadt Cahersiveen.

Im Nordosten, ist der Ort von St. Finan Krankenhaus, etabliert 1849, es wurde von Woodward entworfen & Deane und wurde als eines der architektonisch bedeutendsten Asyle des 19. Jahrhunderts angesehen. Durch die Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts beherbergte es über 1,100 Patienten und wurde schließlich geschlossen in 2012.

Zurück zur Pistenplan

  • REGISTRIERE DICH FÜR UNSEREN NEWSLETTER,,en,ANMELDEN,,en

    Melde dich unten an, um regelmäßig Neuigkeiten über Killarney zu erhalten,,en,Sie können sich jederzeit abmelden,,en,Bitte abonniere mich auf der Killarney Mailingliste,,en. You can unsubscribe at any time.
    • * Erforderlich
    • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.
X

Contact us

  • Privacy Consent * Erforderlich
    This form collects your data so that the company listed on this page can get back to you in relation to your enquiry. Please see our privacy policy for more information.
  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Other Sections

High Street & Lanes

Upcoming Events

High Street & Lanes

High Street & Lanes main image

Audio Transcript

Retracing our steps back to High Street, you can see an abundance of attractive nineteenth century shop fronts and houses. The eleven lanes off High Street, many of them still cobbled and very atmospheric, were once the beating heart of the town. In an effort to capitalise on the developing tourism industry of the mid-eighteenth century, the 4th Earl of Kenmare gave the land here, free of charge, to sub-agents who built houses and had the lanes named after them. Hence, we have lanes called Huggard’s, Brasby’s, Fleming’s, Barry’s, Duckett’s, Hogan’s and Bower’s Lane – where the only Killarney-born Bishop of Kerry was born.

As the name suggests, Ball Alley Lane was once the site of an old Hand Ball Alley. One of the four games organized by the Gaelic Athletic association (the GAA), it is similar to the American game but played in an outdoor court. The sport is not dissimilar to squash in some respects, only instead of using a racquet, the player strikes the ball with their hand. It was once an extremely popular sport across Ireland, and many villages had their own handball alley. Its popularity has diminished from its heyday in the early twentieth century, but it is still a keenly contested sport.

At the end of High Street, at the junction of Rock Road and St Anne’s Road, stands a fine memorial to the Kerry Number 2 Brigade of the old Irish Republican Army which operated in this area during the War of Independence from 1919 – 1921. The large stone monument features an armed rebel ready to jump into action. The Gaelic League Hall once stood near-by, where the local branch of the Irish Volunteers was formed in 1913. Leading figures of the struggle for Irish independence such as Patrick Pearse, Michael Collins and Eamon De Valera all visited Killarney during the Revolutionary Period of 1913 to 1923. The sculpture was made by Ned Looney from Killorglin, Co. Kerry and was erected in 1970 by the Killarney branch of the Republican Graves Association. Another, almost identical work of Ned Looney’s stands in the south Kerry town of Cahersiveen.

To the northeast, is the site of St. Finan’s Hospital, established 1849, it was designed by Woodward & Deane and was regarded as one of the most architecturally distinguished asylums of the 19th century. By the mid-20th Century it housed over 1,100 patients and was eventually closed in 2012.

Back to trail map

  • SIGN UP TO OUR NEWSLETTER

    Sign up below to receive regular updates about Killarney. You can unsubscribe at any time.
    • * Required
    • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
X

Contact us

  • Privacy Consent * Required
    This form collects your data so that the company listed on this page can get back to you in relation to your enquiry. Please see our privacy policy for more information.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.