Other Sections

The Royal Fusiliers Kreuz und Grabstein

Anstehende Veranstaltungen

The Royal Fusiliers Kreuz und Grabstein

The Royal Fusiliers Kreuz und Grabstein Hauptbild

Audio Transcript

Ein Denkmal für den Königlichen Munster Fusiliers in Form eines schön dekorierte High Cross ist links von der Killarney Avenue Hotel befindet. Das Regiment wurde gegründet 1881 durch den Zusammenschluss von mehreren irischen Einheiten in der britischen Armee, wie die East India Company, die königlichen Bengal-Füsiliere und die Kerry-Miliz. Das Regiment diente in Indien, Birma, Jerusalem, Palästina und Südafrika während des Burenkrieges und im Ersten Weltkrieg.

Das Emblem Regiment enthält einen Bengal-Tiger, eine Granate Flamme und die Flagge der südlichen irischen Provinz Munster. Das Denkmal wurde mit voller britischem Militär Pomp und Zeremonie enthüllt 1906. Sein Design ist auf dem irischen High Cross aus, dass das goldene Zeitalter der frühen irischen Kirche darstellt.

In der gleichen Stelle, ein Denkmal für die 308 Männer von Killarney, die im ersten Weltkrieg gekämpft wurden vom Präsident von Irland enthüllt 2009. 192 Männer starben im Krieg und diejenigen, die zurückgegeben wurden schwer verletzt und geistig narbig. Von den jungen Männern, die gestorben, die meisten wurden bei Gallipoli getötet, und einige in der Schlacht an der Somme. Ein Buch der Erinnerung in Killarney Bibliothek aufbewahrt wird, die ihre Daten aufzeichnet.

Zurück zur Pistenplan

  • REGISTRIERE DICH FÜR UNSEREN NEWSLETTER,,en,ANMELDEN,,en

    Melde dich unten an, um regelmäßig Neuigkeiten über Killarney zu erhalten,,en,Sie können sich jederzeit abmelden,,en,Bitte abonniere mich auf der Killarney Mailingliste,,en. You can unsubscribe at any time.
    • * Erforderlich
    • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.
X

Contact us

  • Privacy Consent * Erforderlich
    This form collects your data so that the company listed on this page can get back to you in relation to your enquiry. Please see our privacy policy for more information.
  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Covid top menu

The Royal Fusiliers Cross and Headstone

Upcoming Events

The Royal Fusiliers Cross and Headstone

The Royal Fusiliers Cross and Headstone main image

Audio Transcript

A memorial to the Royal Munster Fusiliers in the form of a beautifully decorated High Cross is located to the left of the Killarney Avenue Hotel. The regiment was established in 1881 through the amalgamation of several Irish units in the British Army, such as the East India Company, the Royal Bengal Fusiliers and the Kerry Militia. The regiment served in India, Burma, Jerusalem, Palestine and South Africa during the Boer War and in WWI.

The regiment’s emblem contains a Bengal Tiger, a grenade flame and the flag of the southern Irish province of Munster. The memorial was unveiled with full British military pomp and ceremony in 1906. Its design is based on the Irish High cross that represents the golden age of the Early Irish Church.

In the same location, a memorial to the 308 men from Killarney who fought in the first world war was unveiled by the President of Ireland in 2009. 192 men died in the war and those who returned were badly injured and mentally scarred. Of the young men who died, most were killed at Gallipoli, and some at the Battle of the Somme. A book of remembrance is kept in Killarney Library which records their details.

Back to trail map

stay connected

#ourkillarney
    X

    Contact us

    • Privacy Consent * Required
      This form collects your data so that the company listed on this page can get back to you in relation to your enquiry. Please see our privacy policy for more information.
    • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.